?

Log in

Reviewer Rob's Editorial Blog [- Reviewer Magazine]
[- Reviewer photo services]
[- FOR SALE: Rare Books, Merch & Other Stuff (coming soon)]
[- Editorial Disclaimer and Fair Use Notice] Below are the 10 most recent journal entries recorded in the "Reviewer Mag" journal:

[<< Previous 10 entries]

August 28th, 2008
01:48 am

[Link]

I Wanna Be Elected

I never lied to you, Ive always been cool



Im your top prime cut of meat, Im your choice
I wanna be elected
Im your yankee doodle dandy in a gold rolls royce
I wanna be elected
Kids want a savior, dont need a fake
I wanna be elected
Were gonna rock to the rules that I make
I wanna be elected, elected, elected
I never lied to you, Ive always been cool
I wanna be elected
I gotta get the vote, and I told you about school
I wanna be elected, elected, elected
Hallelujah, I wanna be elected
Everyone in the united states of america
Were gonna win this one, take the country by storm
Were gonna be elected
You and me together, young and strong
Were gonna be elected, elected, elected
Respected, selected, call collected
I wanna be elected, elected

Tags:

(Leave a comment)

August 6th, 2008
06:13 pm

[Link]

re-post from ReviewerMag.com

Interns Wanted

We need more music review writers

Music Writer Wanted: Are you tired of an easy life of toil-free leisure? Do you feel you have too much money and nothing arduous to occupy your time? Take your first step in the exciting world of journalism! Become an unpaid intern at Reviewer Magazine and get started on our treadmill of clerical drudgery! Positions to be filled include music and entertainment review churner, distribution specialist, computer drone, and more! editor@reviewermagazine.com MYSPACE

(Leave a comment)

July 27th, 2008
11:56 am

[Link]

Chomsky Gets It Wrong

Chomsky on Pornography


" ...A Disgraceful Activity"


"I'd never heard of the Huster... "



Wow, maybe I should take him off my Myspace friends list. To imply generally that all pornography is about the degradation of women is the same as saying all tomatos have salmonella, or that all wars are immoral... The narrator of this drek even gets the street date wrong of the issue the article was in, saying it was September of '04 while zooming in on screen is a shot of the cover where it clearly shows it's SEPTEMBER OF 2005.

"I'd never heard of the Huster," says it all. Chomsky is such an out-of-touch acedemic that he didn't do any cursory research on the magazine before he granted the interview, a magazine that every other American male has heard of, until someone told him "what the Huster was..." Haha. This is the magazine that has fought for First Amendment rights for 30 years and made famous for printing photos of Jackie Kennedy-Onassis. So Huster's style of erotica isn't for everyone - so what? This is a free country. Look at it if you want or ignore it, just don't try to remove the rights of others to enjoy it if they want.

Oh, and pornography is like child abuse?! PLEASE! The actresses and actors in the magazine are adults who gave their full, informed consent, which is something children can't do.

I feel sorry for Noam Chomsky. After his name appeared on the cover of Hustler he probably received some harsh criticism from people close to him, people who, as an old man, he felt very dependent upon their approval, and at his age and in his state of frailty one needs to make more friends, not lose them. But Chomsky's stock has fallen. To use as a metaphor the comparison of child abuse to pornography shows that this man's days as a reputable commentator of social issues are now over.

~Editor

Below, the Chomsky interview video about his Hustler article, from youtube.com/watch?v=SNlRoaFTHuE at youtube.com/ChallengingMedia:



ReviewerMag.com | editor@reviewermagazine.com

Tags:

(Leave a comment)

June 17th, 2008
02:31 am

[Link]

archeological discovery
http://reviewermagazine.com/metate-page.html

Stone Age Cuisinart

Pictured below is an American Indian metate.

A bit of background: It was picked up in 1975 by a railroad weed survey employee who was working in Sorrento Valley, just east of Torrey Pines State Beach, in San Diego County. At the time he was checking for "exotic" or non-native grasses that might have sprouted along the tracks from seeds that fall off railroad cars. It's a job that he said was paid for by tax dollars so I guess it might not exist anymore. In 1975 the population of San Diego was a fraction of what it is today, and the land rush that Proposition 13 started in 1980 hadn't been imagined by more than the most visionary of community planners. In 1980 both Carroll Canyon Road and Black Mountain Road were unpaved and we'd drive down them to go surfing in La Jolla or Del Mar, passing places like this metate spot all the time.

Anyways, he was with a group of people from work doing a job, the guy who found this metate, and he saw it sitting off by itself "in a wash" near where Panasquitos Canyon empties out onto the tidal flats. It was when Interstate 805 was just being finished, and he said there were still some old windmills there built by homesteaders in the 1860s after California had become a state, but they had been abandoned shortly after being erected due to drought. There were also some now vary rare wild walnut trees nearby. This metate belongs to me now but the former owner said that there were grinding holes in the vicinity (the type in large semi-submerged boulders), and I've read on the internet that there's different uses for those too. Perhaps the women had these mobile stones for washing flour with water, although this one's rather heavy to transport over long distances.

Here's a Mapquest page of near the exact spot he described it as being found:
mapquest.com/maps/sorrento+valley+road+%26+sorrento+valley+blvd+san+diego++ca/

I not sure why I'm sharing this info with you, dear readers. Like me you probably have a busy life, one full of exciting events and ambitious hopes. Just yesterday you might have watched Tiger Woods on TV win the US Open at the Torrey Pines golf course a couple of miles away from this location. Thousands of people pass by this site every hour during a normal day on the 5 and 805 freeway overpasses that merge above it. But down there it sits, the pastoral nexus of coastal valley and seasonal streams where generations of humans had used it continuously until the mid 1800s when the socio-demographic climate began to change and they moved on to greener meadows. Afterwards this metate must have sat untouched in the same spot for at least 100 years, perhaps totally unnoticed, until someone came by and ascribed any significance to it again. Today's descendants of the hands that ground Torrey pinon nuts, acorns from Live Oaks and walnuts on this granite milling device are doing pretty well for themselves all things considering since the casinos have brought them enough money to afford electric cuisinarts.

I wonder a lot of things about this example of prehistoric kitchen technology. Like how long did it take to carve out that trough used as the grinding bowl? That's a hard-ass piece of granite... And where did they get it? Was it unearthed from a local granite outcropping or did its manufacturer import it from the hills inland where there's more of this stone to be found? Is it possible to determine how old it is, maybe from local tribal knowledge of the history of the area? And who were these people? What sort of society did they have? Why did they leave all of a sudden? Was it a type of military action that drove them out or were they brought under the rule of the Catholic Missions?

I'll look into these questions more later, but for now I'm content to occasionally glance at this metate in its place on my counter-top next to my stove. And I smile when I see it because it's a reminder to me of our shared nomadic heritage. Because, no matter who you are descended from, be it English royalty, gypsies, samurai, Scandinavian vikings, Zulu tribesmen or whoever, somewhere back there in the misty bogs of antiquity you had a grandmother who toiled upon a stone not unlike this one.

~RR



Tags:

(Leave a comment)

May 7th, 2008
10:56 am

[Link]

nature's way

Snakebite!

A rattler gets ready to enjoy a yummy furry treat.


It is nature's way.

This is a Crotalus oreganus helleri, also known as a "Southern Pacific rattlesnake, black diamond rattlesnake, black (diamond) rattler, gray diamond-back, mountain rattler, Pacific rattler, San Diegan rattler, timber rattler," and is a member of "a venomous pitviper subspecies found in South-West California and south into Baja California," according to its listing at Wikipedia.com here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Crotalus_oreganus_helleri

See a higher resolution version of this clip at the Reviewer Magazine website here:

http://reviewermagazine.com/tasty-snakey-mouse-snack-web-desktop.mov

Tags:

(Leave a comment)

April 22nd, 2008
02:19 am

[Link]

My Cause Is Noble

"I can guide a missile by satellite"

The Flobots - Handlebars lyrics

[... video by Reviewer Rob]

Artist: The Flobots lyrics
Album: Other Song Lyrics
Title: "Handlebars"


I can ride my bike with no handlebars

No handlebars

No handlebars



I can ride my bike with no handlebars

No handlebars

No handlebars



Look at me, look at me

hands in the air like it's good to be

ALIVE

and I'm a famous rapper

even when the paths're all crookedy

I can show you how to do-si-do

I can show you how to scratch a record

I can take apart the remote control

And I can almost put it back together

I can tie a knot in a cherry stem

I can tell you about Leif Ericson

I know all the words to "De Colores"

And "I'm Proud to be an American"

Me and my friend saw a platypus

Me and my friend made a comic book

And guess how long it took

I can do anything that I want cuz, look:



I can keep rhythm with no metronome

No metronome

No metronome



I can see your face on the telephone

On the telephone

On the telephone



Look at me

Look at me

Just called to say that it's good to be

ALIVE

In such a small world

All curled up with a book to read

I can raise funds open up a thrift store

I can make a living off a magazine

I can design an engine sixty four

Miles to a gallon of gasoline

I can make new antibiotics

I can make computers survive aquatic conditions

I know how to run a business

And I can make you wanna buy a product

Movers shakers and producers

Me and my friends understand the future

I see the strings that control the systems

I can do anything with no assistance

I can change the nation with a microphone

With a microphone

With a microphone

I can split the atoms of a molecule

Of a molecule

Of a molecule



Look at me

Look at me

Driving and I won't stop

And it feels so good to be

Alive and on top

My reach is global

My tower secure

My cause is noble

My power is pure

I can hand out a million vaccinations

Or let'em all die in exasperation

Have'em all grilled leavin lacerations

Have'em all killed by assassination

I can make anybody go to prison

Just because I don't like'em and

I can do anything with no permission

I have it all under my command

I can guide a missile by satellite

By satellite

By satellite

and I can hit a target through a telescope

Through a telescope

Through a telescope

and I can end the planet in a holocaust

In a holocaust

In a holocaust

In a holocaust

In a holocaust

In a holocaust

In a holocaust



I can ride my bike with no handlebars

No handle bars

No handlebars



I can ride my bike with no handlebars

No handlebars

No handlebars

Tags:

(Leave a comment)

April 21st, 2008
01:14 am

[Link]

Moon over Nado

Tags:

(Leave a comment)

April 5th, 2008
02:32 pm

[Link]

Temporary Hold?!

Apr. 3, 2008 Debit Card PIN Purchase To SHELL SAN DIEGO CA Completed Details -$54.72 USD $0.00 USD -$54.72 USD $149.97 USD
Apr. 3, 2008 Temporary Hold By PayPal Placed Details -$54.72 USD $0.00 USD -$54.72 USD $204.69 USD
Apr. 3, 2008 Authorization To SHELL SAN DIEGO CA Pending Details -$54.72 USD $0.00 USD -$54.72 USD $259.41 USD

Dude, what the FUCK? What the fuck to they get off on placing a temporary hold for several days after the purchase has completed when you make a MasterCard purchase at some places? This is fucking bullshit - now that money can't be used for anything else until it's released. It's BULLSHIT!

I bought $50 worth of gas and some munchies at the Shell station the other day with one of my cards and the purchase went through just fine but then that night I saw online that TWICE the amount of my purchase was lifted from my balance. I fucking HATE THAT. There's NO NEED FOR THAT! Why, I mean give me just one fucking good reason how come they need to tie up twice the amount of the purchase. If I had only $55 dollars in the account the purchase would have still went through just fine... right? So why the "temporary hold" on these other funds when the card company shows me online that the original purchase has went through already?

Can anyone fucking explain this to me????

(Leave a comment)

March 29th, 2008
04:43 pm

[Link]

AT&T hasnever had any real competition

AT&T: A Persistent and Dangerous National Monopoly



[From Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/American_Telephone_&_Telegraph]

A national monopoly


As a result of a combination of regulatory actions by government and actions by AT&T, the firm eventually gained what most regard as monopoly status. In 1907, AT&T president Theodore Vail made it known that he was pursuing a goal of "One Policy, One System, Universal Service." AT&T began purchasing competitors, which attracted the attention of antitrust regulators. To avoid antitrust action, in a deal with the government, Vail agreed to the Kingsbury Commitment of 1913. The terms of the agreement allowed AT&T to purchase independent phone companies as long as it sold an equal amount of telephone devices. G.W. Brock says in Telephone:The First Hundred Years, "This provision allowed Bell and the independents to exchange telephones in order to give each other geographical monopolies. So long as only one company served a given geographical area there was little reason to expect price competition to take place." AT&T focused on purchasing companies within specific geographic areas that increased its effective control of the telephone system market, while selling its less-desirable and previously acquired companies to independent buyers. Also included in the Kingsbury Commitment was the requirement that AT&T allow competitors to connect through its phone lines. Economists point out that this reduced the incentive of these companies to build competing long-distance lines. …

Break up, spinoffs and restructuring


The rest of the telephone monopoly lasted until final settlement of a 1974 United States Department of Justice antitrust suit against AT&T on 1982-01-08, under which AT&T ("Ma Bell") agreed to divest its local exchange service operating companies, in return for a chance to go into the computer business (see AT&T Computer Systems). AT&T's local operations were split into seven independent Regional Bell Operating Companies known as "Baby Bells".

With the American consumer's new ability to purchase phones outright, AT&T and the Bell System lost the considerable revenues earned from phone leasing by local Bell companies. Forced to compete with other manufacturers for new phone sales, the aging Western Electric phone designs still marketed through AT&T failed to sell, and Western Electric eventually closed all of its U.S. phone manufacturing plants. AT&T, reduced in value by about 70%, continued to run all its long distance services through AT&T Communications (the new name of AT&T Long Lines), although it lost some market share in the ensuing years to competitors MCI and Sprint Corporation.

A sign that hung in many Bell facilities in 1983 read:

There are two giant entities at work in our country, and they both have an amazing influence on our daily lives. . . one has given us radar, sonar, stereo, teletype, the transistor, hearing aids, artificial larynxes, talking movies, and the telephone. The other has given us the Civil War, the Spanish-American War, the First World War, the Second World War, the Korean War, the Vietnam War, double-digit inflation, double-digit unemployment, the Great Depression, the gasoline crisis, and the Watergate fiasco. Guess which one is now trying to tell the other one how to run its business?[1]



On 2001-07-09 it spun off AT&T Wireless Corp. in what was then the world's largest initial public offering (IPO). Later that year it spun off AT&T Broadband and Liberty Media, which comprised its cable TV assets. AT&T Broadband was subsequently acquired by Comcast in 2002, and AT&T Wireless merged with Cingular Wireless LLC in 2004.

In 2004, the U.S. government eliminated equal access regulations that allowed long-distance phone companies to access the networks owned by the regional Bell carriers at fixed rates. This ultimately caused AT&T to move away from the residential telephone business — declaring in the process that it would no longer market residential telephone service. Instead, its residential focus shifted to offering a voice service over a broadband Internet connection called AT&T CallVantage.

Acquisition by SBC


Main article: AT&T

On January 31, 2005, Baby Bell SBC Communications announced its plans to acquire "Ma Bell" AT&T Corp. for $16 billion. SBC announced in October 2005 that it would shed the "SBC" brand and take the AT&T brand along with the "T" NYSE ticker symbol.

Merger approval concluded on 2005-11-18; SBC Communications began rebranding the following Monday, November 21 as "AT&T Inc." and began trading as AT&T on December 1 under the "T" symbol. The original AT&T corporate entity, founded in 1885, became a subsidiary of the new AT&T Inc. However, this is not the first time it has existed as a subsidiary; in its founding it was a subsidiary of the American Bell Telephone Company.

Tags:

(Leave a comment)

04:10 pm

[Link]

AT&T hands over personal account customer info without subpeona
[Ooooo - the employees were "investigated"... like big wup-dee-do. ~Ed.]

ex·i·gent

– adjective

1. requiring immediate action or aid; urgent; pressing.
2. requiring a great deal, or more than is reasonable.


FBI Employees Face Criminal Probe Over Phone Company Info/Patriot Act Abuse

When It's THE PHONE COMPANY Who Willingly Supplied The Pivate information Of The Customers!

Ryan Singel Email 07.12.07 | 2:00 AM

FBI personnel who used misleading emergency letters to acquire thousands of Americans' phone records are the subject of a criminal investigation, top bureau officials told civil liberties groups Monday.

The unprecedented criminal probe, revealed at an outreach meeting led by FBI director Robert Mueller and general counsel Valerie Caproni at FBI headquarters, is looking at the actions of an antiterrorism team known as the Communications Analysis Unit, according to two people who attended the meeting independently and who informed Wired News, requesting anonymity.

The privately disclosed investigation would mark the first time government officials have faced possible prosecution for misuse of Patriot Act investigative tools, and highlights the seriousness of recent reports about the FBI's misuse of a powerful self-issued subpoena known as a National Security Letter.

Unit employees, who are not authorized to request records in investigations, sent form letters to telephone companies to acquire detailed billing information on specific phone numbers by falsely promising that subpoenas were already in the works.

According to a third source, FBI officials also said at the meeting that some bureau employees have already been granted immunity from prosecution in the investigation. The third source, who also spoke on condition of anonymity, did not recall, however, that FBI officials described the investigation as "criminal."

FBI spokesman Richard Kolko confirmed that the meeting took place but declined to comment on the content of the conversation, saying only, "The FBI does not confirm or deny investigations."

Neither the Justice Department's Office of the Inspector General nor the FBI's Office of Professional Responsibility returned calls for comment.

While the scope of the alleged investigation is unknown, investigators could be examining whether the unit violated the Electronic Communications Privacy Act, or committed fraud by falsely swearing that subpoenas were being prepared.

National Security Letters are self-issued subpoenas that allow investigators in terrorism and espionage cases to require phone companies, banks, credit reporting agencies and internet service providers to turn over records on Americans considered "relevant" to an investigation. Those records are then fed into three computer systems, including a shared data-mining tool known as the Investigative Data Warehouse.

Though warned in 2001 to use this power sparingly, FBI agents issued more than 47,000 National Security Letters in 2005, more than half of which targeted Americans.

Justice Department officials, including Attorney General Alberto Gonzales, have downplayed the gravity of the reported errors while attempting to mollify critics by promising to strengthen internal oversight.

The Communications Analysis Unit, part of the FBI's Communications Exploitation Section based in the agency's headquarters building, is tasked with analyzing terrorist communications and providing intelligence to the FBI's Counterterrorism Division. However, because it only supports investigators, unit employees cannot issue subpoenas and instead need to have counterterrorism investigators do so.

However, the Justice Department's Inspector General reported (.pdf) in March that the office issued 739 "exigent letters" to AT&T, Verizon and MCI seeking information on more than 3,000 phone numbers. The letters stated: "Due to exigent circumstances, it is requested that records for the attached list of telephone numbers be provided. Subpoenas requesting this information have been submitted to the U.S. Attorney's Office who will process and serve them formally to (Phone Company Name) as expeditiously as possible."

However, no such subpoenas had been filed with U.S. Attorneys and only later were some of the requests followed up with proper legal process, according to the Inspector General's report.

Several of the letters included requests for records for more than 100 phone numbers.

Bassem Youssef, the current head of the Communications Analysis Unit, told Congress in March that key FBI lawyers knew about the problem in 2005, when he notified them and put an end to the false letters.

Youssef first noticed the problem with the letters in 2005 when he took over the unit and quickly brought the matter to the attention of his supervisor and the FBI's Office of the General Counsel, according to a March letter (.pdf) sent by his lawyer, Stephen Kohn, to Sen. Chuck Grassley.

"At all times, the (National Security Law Branch) and the FBI (Office of the General Counsel) knew that the field offices and operational units were non-compliant in obtaining the legal documentation," Kohn wrote.

Youssef is currently suing the FBI for retaliating against him for complaining that the bureau was wasting his Arabic-language skills and antiterrorism experience. He attempted to get proper National Security Letters filed to provide post-facto legal backing for the exigent letters but was hampered by uncooperative field offices, according to the Senate letter.

Kohn did not respond to requests for comment.

(Leave a comment)

[<< Previous 10 entries]

reviewermag.com Powered by LiveJournal.com